加拿大银行计划在未来两年或更长时间内将基准利率保持在零附近

加拿大银行计划在未来两年或更长时间内将基准利率保持在零附近

  • 商业信息
  • 政府条例
  • 财政信息
2020-07-29

经济正在缓慢复苏,预计需要很多年才能恢复到COVID前的水平。负责制定货币政策的内部委员会的管理委员会Tiff Macklem计划将基准利率维持在0.25%,直到“经济恢复,再实现2%的可持续基准利率”。

这项政策将使现金流入市场,刺激消费者进行消费。由于储蓄不会产生收入,这将为市场注入数十亿现金。在未来几年会帮助加拿大和加拿大的企业跨过难关。Macklem强调,这项政策将继续下去。

加拿大央行(Bank of Canada)以利率和通胀率稳定而闻名,多年来保持预期一致,不愿干预市场。在由COVID引起的这种特殊情况下(经济衰退),他们将引导经济。在未来的许多年里保持0.25%的利率将给市场带来信心,人们可以利用新的利率而不用担心突然的变化或做出恐慌的决定。

加拿大央行预测,今年国内生产总值可能收缩6.8%,明年将回升4.9%,2022年将回升3.2%。加拿大已经避免了最坏的情况,但何时才能恢复到COVID之前的水平仍不确定,直到有方法消灭病毒。

5月份的CPI同比下降了0.4%。食品价格正在上涨,但低需求至少在2022年之前将显著减缓通胀,预计CPI将在1.7%左右。随着经济复苏,供应超过需求,主要是由于花销都用于必需品上了,而其他商品的花销在减少。

加拿大央行(Bank of Canada)预测,加拿大经济低于2022年的预期水平,在可预见的未来,潜在增长率将为零。加拿大央行发出的信息是刺激消费和投资,低利率将是最大的刺激方案。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

0%

Bank of Canada Plans to Keep Benchmark Interest Rate near Zero for the Next Two or More Years

Bank of Canada Plans to Keep Benchmark Interest Rate near Zero for the Next Two or More Years

  • Business
  • Economy
  • Finance
July 24, 2020

The economy is slowly recovering and is expected to take many years for it to return to pre-COVID level. Tiff Macklem, governing council for the internal committee that sets monetary policy, plans to keep the benchmark rate at 0.25% until “economic slack is absorbed so that two per cent inflation target is sustainability achieved.

The policy will bring cash into the market dictating consumer behavior from saving to spending. Since saving will not generate income, this will bring billions of cash into the market. This will help Canadian and Canadian businesses throughout the upcoming years. This is a policy that would continue, Macklem emphasized.

Bank of Canada is known for a stable interest and inflation rate keeping expectation consistent over the years and does not like to intervene with the market. In special circumstances, a recession caused by COVID, they will guide the economy. To keep the rate at 0.25% for many years to come will bring confidence to the market and people can take advantage of the new interest rate without worrying a sudden change or make panic decisions.

The Bank of Canada predicts the GDP could contract 6.8% this year, before rebound by 4.9% next year and 3.2% in 2022. Canada have avoided the worst-case scenario, but when will we return to pre-covid level is still uncertain until a solution is in place to deal with the virus.

The CPI declined 0.4% in May compared to the previous year. The cost of food is rising, but low demand will slow down inflation considerably until at least 2022 which estimates CPI to be around 1.7%. As the recovery occurs, supply is exceeding demand mainly due to spending going into necessities and cost of other goods are continuing to go on sale.

Bank of Canada forecast “the economy is short of what is expected to be in 2022 and potential growth rate will be at zero for the foreseeable future.” The message from the Bank of Canada is to boost consumption and investment and the low interest rate will be the biggest stimulus package.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0%